Geeked on Dungeons and Dragons



 New Mount Rules!

Go down 
Encounter Killer
Defender of the Faith: DM

Encounter KillerDefender of the Faith:  DM

Number of posts : 2557
Age : 47
Hit Points : New Mount Rules! Fulllife
<b>View of DDM 2.0</b> : New Mount Rules! Censor11
<b>View of 4.0</b> : New Mount Rules! Censor11
<b>Trade Topic</b> : HERE
Reputation : 1
Registration date : 2007-02-17

New Mount Rules! Empty
PostSubject: New Mount Rules!   New Mount Rules! EmptyWed May 07, 2008 12:24 pm


The Mount ability specifies a keyword, such as Dwarf, Orc, or Human, which permits a creature with that keyword to become its rider. While mounted, both rider and mount are considered to occupy the mount's entire space, are adjacent to one another, but do not provide cover for one another.

The mount and rider are separate creatures which move together. If movement would provoke an opportunity attack, the attacker would need to choose either the rider or the mount for the target of the opportunity attack unless the attacker can make more than one opportunity attack during a creature's turn.

A mount and rider activate separately.

Mount: On a mount's turn, it is able to move and attack normally. Effects that move, shift, or change position of the mount also change the position of the rider. While the mount is moving, you ignore limitations to the rider's movement, such as those caused by Visejaw, Fear's Dark Shadow, or standard conditions such as Staggered, Slowed, Stunned or Helpless. If the mount has Flight, the rider also benefits from Flight while the mount is moving. Other abilities of the mount do not benefit the rider unless specified.

If the mount is eliminated, the rider is placed on the map in the space formerly occupied by the mount. If the mount's former space is not a legal position, place the rider in the nearest legal position.

When the mount charges, if an ability or effect allows the rider to make an attack as part of the mount's charge, the rider also receives a +1 attack bonus to that attack against the target of the charge.

Mounting: An eligible non-mounted creature adjacent to a mount can become a rider as a move action that provokes opportunity attacks. While mounted, a rider counts as a Mounted creature and has the Riding condition:

* Riding: A Riding creature cannot move on its own but can otherwise act normally. It is still subject to effects that push, pull, or otherwise transport it. Effects which move, shift, or change position of the Riding creature end this condition and do not change the position of the mount. A Riding creature's Speed is 0. A Riding creature may voluntarily dismount as a move action: the Riding condition ends and the creature shifts to an adjacent space. Whenever a creature is dismounted, it cannot move until the end of the current creature's turn.

Forced Dismounts: A mounted unit must always consist of an allied mount and its appropriate rider. If the rider and mount are controlled by different players, even temporarily, dismount the rider (the mount rejects the rider; place in a legal adjacent space). Similarly, if an inappropriate rider is somehow transposed with a mount's rider (a non-Dwarf on a Thundertusk Boar, for example), that creature is also automatically forced to dismount. A rider subjected to an attack, ability or special power that pushes, pulls or slides is dismounted. The rider is considered to occupy the entire space of the mount -- so pushing the rider one space would place it in a space adjacent to the mount. Place effects, such as Abduct or Baleful Transposition, could also be used to dismount a rider. Forced dismounts do not provoke opportunity attacks.

These clarifications supersede any conflicting information in the April 10 Errata and Clarification document.

Q. Can a Rider use a move action to switch between adjacent mounts?
A. No. A creature cannot have the mounted keyword when becoming a Mounted Rider. Additionally, a voluntarily dismounting creature cannot move again for the rest of the turn and is unable to become a rider on a new mount.

Q. Can a Rider dismount to an occupied space or a space containing difficult terrain? Can a non-phasing creature dismount past the corner of a wall to an adjacent space?
A. No. A dismounting creature follows all rules applied to shifting. You can only dismount to squares that you could normally move to as if you were shifting from one square in the mount's space to an adjacent square.

Q. The Thundertusk Boar's Rabid Charger power and the Warhorse's Charger ability both grant the rider a free attack when charging. In which order do the mount and rider attack? Do both rider and mount attacks have to be against the target of the charge?
A. Both the rider and the mount must attack the target of the charge. Both must satisfy the requirements of a charge to attack: they must attack while adjacent and in the space nearest the enemy. The rider or mount may attack in either order. Resolve one before beginning the next attack sequence.

Q. If a mount is on teleport terrain, can I teleport a creature to mount it?
A. No. You may not teleport or otherwise be placed in a space currently occupied by another creature.

Q. If a mounted pair is on teleport terrain, can the rider teleport to dismount?
A. Yes, if the rider can teleport to a legal position. This counts as a voluntary dismount, so the rider's speed is reduced to zero for the rest of the creature's turn.

Q. A mounted pair charges a target creature adjacent to an enemy Champion of Dol Dorn. If the Champion interrupts the charge using his Defender power and uses Feat of Strength to push the mount back one square, can the mount or the rider still attack?
A. Mounted creatures still use all normal game rules for attacks. If an event such as the Champion of Dol Dorn's attack causes a creature to be placed in a situation where it cannot complete its attack sequence, the attack ends. The mount is still considered to have charged and cannot move further.

Q. What happens when a rider is Immobilized? Can an Immobilized or Stunned rider dismount?
A. No. Because dismounting is a type of shift, an Immobilized or Stunned creature is not permitted to voluntarily dismount unless able to use an ability or power such as Teleport in which a creature is placed in rather than moved to a different space.

Q. Can the rider charge an enemy after dismounting?
A. No, a voluntarily dismounted creature cannot move until the end of the turn.

Q. If a mount is stunned, petrified or rendered helpless, does the rider automatically dismount?
A. No. The rider must still dismount normally from a mount with any of these conditions. A rider only dismounts automatically when the mount is destroyed, when the rider is affected by forced movement affects, or when a rider is no longer eligible.

Q. Can a rider start a game mounted?
A. No.

Q. Can a Nightmare with a rider move through a wall?
A. A nightmare may not move through a wall unless the rider also has Phasing.

Q. Does a close burst attack from a rider affect the mount?
A. A close burst attack does target creatures in the same space as the attacker, so a mount may be susceptible to a close burst attack from the rider and vice versa.

When the end is near the PCs yell out for the Encounter Killer!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
New Mount Rules!
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» Smiley war!
» Avatar Rules
» Hostile Takeovers and their Rules
» Rules of Pandora's Box
» 02. Magic Rules

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Geeked on Dungeons and Dragons :: DDM Gaming Discussions :: DDM Warband-Strategy Discussion-
Jump to:  
Create a forum on Forumotion | © phpBB | Free forum support | Contact | Report an abuse |